I DESERVE WHAT I’VE GOTTEN (BUT BETTER THE ROD NOW THAN HELL LATER)

Like all the mother cows who squealed

as their calves were dragged away–

to be put in a crate and raised for veal,

and killed for meat one day,

I had my babies taken away

yet I never made the connection

between the meat I ate and the way

they left. My choices sealed their defection.

I have no right to a legal stance:

I stand, before God, accused–

I confess and repent, beg a second chance

to NOT eat who has been abused.

Nor drink from the teets of a mom in chains

who misses her babes like me.

 

Please God give me the strength to refrain

from what keeps her in misery.

 

Leave a Reply

